

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL AFFAIRS (DESA) ROOM S-2922, UN SECRETARIAT BUILDING, NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10017 TEL.: 1 (212) 963.5958 • FAX: 1 (212) 963.1010

UN-DESA GRANT

<u>Powering the Future We Want:</u> <u>Recognizing leadership and innovative practices in energy for sustainable development</u>

MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY COUNCIL

	Name	Country	Title
1.	Dr. Christoph Frei	Switzerland	Secretary General of the World Energy Council;
			Professor of International Energy Policy and Strategy, at
			the EPFL, Switzerland
2.	Mr. Mark Fulton	United Kingdom	Founding Partner, Energy Transition Advisors
3.	Prof. Jose Goldemberg	Brazil	Professor University of Sao Paulo, pioneer of ethanol fuel from sugarcane in Brazil
4.	Dr. Patrick HO	Hong Kong, China	Secretary-General for China Energy Fund Committee (ex officio member)
5.	Ms. Maria van der Hoeven	France	Executive Director of the IEA
6.	Mr. John Hofmeister	United States	Founder and Chief Executive, Citizens for Affordable Energy, Washington, D.C.; Former President Shell Oil Company, Houston, Texas
7.	Ms. Marie-José Nadeau	Canada	Chair of the World Energy Council; Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs & Secretary General of Hydro-Québec
8.	Mr. Thanin Pa-Em	Thailand	Deputy Secretary-General, Office of the National Economic and Social Development Board
9.	Prof. Jeffery Sachs	United States	Director of The Earth Institute, Columbia University; Quetelet Professor of Sustainable Development, Professor of Health Policy and Management at Columbia University; Special Advisor to United Nations Secretary- General Ban Ki-moon on the Millennium Development Goals
10.	Dr. Leena Srivastava	India	Executive Director The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI)
11.	Mr. WU Hongbo	United Nations	United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs, Secretary-General for the Third International Conference on Financing for Development (ex officio member)
12.	Mr. Zhang	China	Former director of China's National Energy
	Guobao,		Administration